K.Oshkin – Everest (Soundteller Records)

The latest release from Deersky’s Soundteller Records welcomes K.Oshkin to the label for his debut single.

K.Oshkin - Everest (Soundteller Records)

With a career beginning in 2014 the Siberian artist owns a discography with releases on Steller Fountain’s Astrowave imprint and Loquai’s Refined Tunes. Now making a step up K.Oshkin presents his much anticipated debut single for Soundteller alongside remixes from Following Light, Magnetic Brothers and Robert R. Hardy. 

Beginning with a breakbeat intro ‘Everest’ picks up steam quickly with a meaty groove and rolling rhythms. Granular sweeps and ethereal vocals initiate the main break where broken beats again provide the backdrop as waves of percussion build tension. It’s a short centrepiece and the drop commands your attention with the thunderous groove pushing forward and trippy effects igniting the senses. A peaktime production no doubt and likely the biggest of K.Oshkin’s career. 

First up on the remixes is one of the underground’s hardest working producers Following Light. In addition to running over five labels the Ukrainian artist releases music at a staggering rate. He’s already racked up 30 credits on his discography this year as he continues to push his old school sound. For his ‘Everest’ interpretation he goes dark and paranoid for a very engaging seven minute journey. It’s murky atmospheres and trippy motifs are quite ominous in delivery but the backing of a strong groove brings a great dance floor sensibility. Void of any major break it’s a perfect midset piece and definitely one to change the mood of a room quickly. Great remix from Following Light.

Next up one of our favourite production duo’s the Magnetic Brothers return to Soundteller for their second appearance. The Russian artists last appeared on the Polish imprint in August of 2014 with a remix of AudioStorm’s ‘Cosmic Interference’. Now following solid outings for BC2 and PHW Elements the Magnetic Brothers take ‘Everest’ into deep and funky territory with excellent results. A slower tempo and more spacious, chunked up groove sits at the foundation while an array of rhythmic elements ultimately carry the mix to the main break. The soundscapey interlude progresses nicely with acid lines and spooky vocal pads delivering dramatic moments before a timely roll and catchy drum fill delivers a great drop. Superb remix from the Magnetic Brothers who I still say are a very underrated production duo.

The release concludes with Soundteller label artist Robert R. Hardy returning for his 24th appearance. The Hungarian producer is no doubt one of the label’s core artists last appearing in November with his well received ‘Aeternum’ EP. His music has also been a staple of Beatport’s Progressive House chart of late with a long line of productions getting well into the Top 50 tracks. Here he delivers the most pure progressive house version on the package and also one of his larger productions of late as well. There’s a lot of energy and drive harnessed by the groove as trippy effects and soulful vocals drift through the atmosphere. Waves of percussion fire as crisp stabs and timely builds make for a huge first act. The main break while brief comes off quite epic with vocal gates and a mystical charm lifting the vibe higher. There’s no massive build but nevertheless the scope of the track makes the drop pretty large and expect a huge reaction from your dance floor as well. A monster remix from Robert to close out another great release on Deersky’s Soundteller Records. Don’t miss it.


What do you think?

Daraspa – Beneath The Waves (Remix Edition) [Northern Lights Music]

C-U #essentialprogressive Mixed Aidan McGlynn (January 17 Mix)