Michael A & Tech D – Change (Balkan Connection)

Balkan Connection’s latest features man of the moment Michael A with a co produced EP in conjunction with Ukrainian producer Tech D.

Michael A & Tech D - Change

Both Michael and Tech D are coming off exceptional releases. Mike’s debut on his newly launched Genesis imprint found its way into the chart and sets of Hernan Cattaneo while Tech D’s recent ‘Helios’ was the strongest work of his career. They now come together for their first collaborative production entitled ‘Change’ alongside two solo efforts.

With both Michael and Tech D sitting comfortably in the new progressive movement you would expect a meeting of the minds to result in something quite exceptional and it has with ‘Change’. It’s a laid back tune with a cool, funky groove and loads of interesting elements floating through the mix. Some airy lines bring a spacey hypnotic vibe which just adds to its mood setting capabilities. Solid tune from Michael and Tech D which gets the EP off to a great start. The second selection ‘EDGE’ is Michael’s solo contribution to the release and also my favourite on the EP. There’s a darker tone to it with lots of rough synths and ominous sounding electronics which evolve over the tracks nine minute plus duration. It’s the subtle and continuous building of tension throughout which really makes the track though, I could see this going off large in the right room with the right programming. Stellar track from Michael as usual. The third and final selection on the EP is Tech D’s solo effort entitled ‘Aerostatic’. It complements the previous two cuts really well with its spacious groove and esoteric designs, which meander throughout the piece to dreamy effect. It’s a bit of a departure from some of Tech D’s tougher more techno inspired cuts so it’s great to see him broadening his sonic palette here. Fabulous collaborative EP from Michael A and Tech D which makes for another solid release on Balkan Connection. Don’t miss it.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Marcelo Vasami – Destiny (Dopamine Music)

Alex O’Rion – New Toys EP (Univack)