in ,

Agustin Basulto – Lapiz EP (Sound Avenue)

The 62nd release on Sound Avenue welcomes Agustin Basulto to the label for his debut EP.

Agustin Basulto - Lapiz EP

The Argentinean producer has been exploring the deeper realms of house and techno since his debut release on Proton’s ‘Particles’ in July of 2013. Storied international DJ Nick Warren has also taken a liking to Agustin’s work, having featured it on his famed Soundgarden radioshow last year. Not a stranger to the Sound Avenue family, the Argentine appeared on label affiliate 3rd Avenue in 2014 as part of the imprints famed ‘We Are The Future’ series. Now as 2016 begins we see Agustin presenting his much anticipated debut EP for Sound Avenue entitled ‘Lapiz’.

Beginning with the title cut ‘Lapiz’, Agustin collaborates with vocalist Eliluv for a mystical journey into deep techno and esoteric design. It’s sparse, yet dynamic groove showcases a storyboard of fresh electronics while the hopeful wails of Eliluv pierce the air. Initiating the main break, warm bass swells provide many emotive moments, before the modulation gets a prefect tweak to up the tension and ultimately deliver a big moment for your dance floor.

The EP’s second selection ‘Lunarea’ begins with a tough, dynamic groove anchored with mountainous bass tones. Agustin’s prophetic design qualities once again captivate both your mind and feet, before an emotive narrative quickly shifts the mood. Perhaps the most heartfelt piece on the EP, the main break presents moments of hope and serenity with angelic pads and a powerful chain of sonic decay, before a third act of new-found acid hooks takes you home. 

Going deeper now Agustin presents ‘Huinca’, the EPs third selection, which shows his immaculate groove carving skills at their finest. Spacious bass stabs along with unique percussive elements shape the piece early, before a barrage of claps initiates the first of many vibrant transitions. Perfectly contoured tones model a swing heavy cadence as electric stabs cut through the atmosphere. The main break again elevates the mood with wonderful creative flow and cutting edge motifs, eventually getting washed away in favour of the charismatic groove and a killer third act a conclusion. 

The EP’s fourth and fifth selections find Agustin delving deeper into his studio repertoire with two electronica inspired creations. The first ‘Cheapoon’, a mid-tempo piece with cross-cultural motifs conveys optimism and sincerity. It’s delicate hooks and heart-warming qualities make for a serene eight minute journey, setting up the EPs finale selection ‘Describe The Lie’ perfectly.

Sitting as the ultimate closing piece ‘Describe The Lie’ begins with a cinematic scope before processed vocals present an almost childlike narrative. Hopeful tones then pierce the air, leading to a charming conclusion and in due course a blissful end to the EP. A wonderful collection of music from Agustin who is not afraid to step outside the box, and is certainly a producer you’re going to be hearing a lot about in 2016.


What do you think?

Ewan Rill - 10 Targets

Ewan Rill – 10 Targets (Majestic Family Records)

Magnetic Brothers - 8

Magnetic Brothers – 8 (Movement Recordings)