in ,

Guy J – Octavia/Release Me (Lost & Found)

Guy J returns to his own Lost & Found with his first originals for the label since 2014’s gorgeous ‘Dizzy Moments’.

Here again, Guy J serves up a double-header. ‘Octavia’ is up first, and it’s another dreamy, intricate progger – if you liked ‘Dizzy Moments’, this is not going to disappoint, from its layers of glassy melodics and warm and twisty bassline, to the rising trancey main theme which shimmers throughout most of the track. The track delivers a final sweet rush as it comes out of the main breakdown, just for good measure. ‘Release Me’ is Guy J at his most Vangelis-esque, with its lower-tempo groove, chugging, key-changing bassline, hypnotic synths, and spacey strings and pad. It’s a slow building, clocking in at 9 and a half minutes, with a short breakdown halfway through, leading to a more stripped back sound in the second half. It makes for a very enjoyable sonic journey, though ‘Octavia’ is definitely my pick of the two.

Fans of the more melodic side of Guy J’s output will have a field day with this release – it’s got just the combination of dancefloor dynamics and emotional punch that we’ve come to expect from him.


What do you think?

Alejandro Manso - Beautiful Sins

Alejandro Manso – Beautiful Sins (Movement Recordings)

Michael, Levan, Stiven Rivic and Desaturate - Trauma

Michael, Levan, Stiven Rivic and Desaturate – Trauma (Replug Records)