Various Artists – Winter LP compiled by Alexisphere (Just Movement)

The latest release on Just Movement finds label boss Alexisphere compiling the imprint’s third various artists compilation entitled ‘Winter’.

VA - Winter LP (Just Movement)

With a uniquely curated touch, the Dutch imprint has become renowned for its exclusives collections, which always present a fresh approach on each installment. The label’s latest edition features brand new music from Stage Van H, Stergios, Jp Gallesio, Some Little Things, Just 9eorge, Tash, Julian Dep, Sean McCaff, Jools Verne and George Fil.

The release begins with one of Just Movement’s core artists Stage Van H. The long time collaborator with Rogier is flying solo here and crafts the perfect opening piece for the collection entitled ‘Emerging Shadows’. It’s laid back, broken beats and warm, tranquil moods are effortless in approach and set a wonderful vibe moving forward. It leads nicely into ‘Numb’ by Stergios who also represents one of the labels core artists. Here we find the Greek native going deeper and more emotional with great results. Anchored by warm, well carved groove and smooth hypnotic drifts it casts a melancholic tone, which a delicate piano motif only adds the perfect touch too. Next up Argentinean producer Jp Gallesio makes his label debut with ‘Fluencia’ which, much like Stergios presents some gorgeous moments all wrapped up in a deeper state of mind. It’s smooth, effortless flow and soft tonal theme are simply divine, coupled with a blissful break and stellar finale makes for what is Jp’s most complete track to date. Next up Some Little Things return to the label with their latest studio creation entitled ‘Indigo’. The Argentinian duo build a wonderful mood around an elastic-like groove with metallic designs, tribal-infused drums and cross-cultural motifs. It’s playful nature is ideal for the dance floor and is definitely one you should be hearing a lot in the coming months. Next up Just 9eorge delivers more of his funky, melodic style and takes you on an incredible journey as a result. Known for his guitar motifs the Greek producer delivers more magic in that vein along with a sequential bell that lifts the track even further to the heavens.

At the collections half-way point we see Movement Recordings boss Tash with his latest production entitled ‘Sirop’. Returning for his fourth appearance the much loved Greek artist has once again crafted a production with a keen nose for the dance floor. It’s deep, mystical presence is incredibly alluring and a spacey top end more than provides an excellent sensory assault. Julian Dep is another Argentinian producer who has found a home on Just Movement. Here he makes his fourth appearance with a brand new original entitled ‘Ruthless Revenge’. Going tough yet deep Julian has created one of his finest works here with a mysterious vibe and chunky groove. Beefy bass stabs make for a powerful presence which the argentine offsets nicely with softer atmospheres and smooth rhythms. A barrage of claps and killer lead line up the intensity further and ultimately make for a colourful finale. One of Julian’s finest to date no doubt. Next up is another familiar face to Just Movement Sean McCaff. The Dutch producer makes his fourth appearance, presenting a timeless techno piece entitled ‘Stairs Up’ which warms the heart. From its emotive chord changes to sparking electronics and angelic vocal pads it’s a heavenly journey made for an end of the night moment. As the collection is winding to a close the energy get’s upped further with ‘Nightflight’ by Jools Verne. A bubbly number anchored by a cavernous groove and gorgeous rhythms. It’s infectious vibe is undeniable and leads perfectly into the collection’s closing piece ‘No Control’ by George Fil. A darker, brooding number with an ominous atmosphere and trippy vocal gates running through it. Amidst the dark undertones however, are several cerebral elements making it a wonderful piece to tie the whole collection together and close it out on a strong note. A beautiful selection of music from Just Movement. Don’t miss it.


What do you think?

Madloch & Eze Ramirez - Forward Thinking (Original Mix) [Sound Avenue]

Madloch & Eze Ramirez – Forward Thinking (Sound Avenue)

Robert R. Hardy & Angela Nemeth - Life Under

Robert R. Hardy & Angela Nemeth – Life Under (Balkan Connection)