AGM & Quintrix – Rise Of The Shadows EP (System Recordings)

System Recordings always seem to have their ear to the ground in terms of scoping out new talent for the label. This week sees the System debut of a very exciting production duo by the name of AGM & Quintrix. The Spanish duo came first came to our attention when they remixed Funk D’Void’s ‘Italoca’ in October of 2011. The pair then went on to appear on Liquid Grooves, Minoca and PR Underground over the course of 2012 and 2013. Their new EP for System entitled ‘Rise Of The Shadows’ is a great return for the Spanish pair and contains three brand new original productions.

AGM & Quintrix’s broad range of styles is very evident on the title cut. The techno inspired framework combined with funky bottom end and timeless progressive sensibilities is very refreshing. There are a series of short builds and cool fills throughout that really add to the great dance floor energy and the melodic subtleties seem perfectly restrained. The second cut ‘Body Work’ offers a big, spacious groove that seems tailor made for the dance floor. An array of clever rhythms, crisp electronics and lively drums really shine here and the quality of the production just makes it that much better. Everything is so well spaced; there’s a lot going on here but it all fits together perfectly. Brilliant production from AGM & Quintrix. The release closes with ‘Falling Forever’ which puts a marvelous cap on the EP. This is a real dark room anthem in the making. Warped rhythms, wicked vocal stabs, clap clusters and killer hypnotic loops all combine for an absolutely rocking creation from AGM & Quintrix. The wide array of vocal samples are one of the freshest components of the track. They’re just damn cool and incredibly catchy. All three cuts here are exceptional both in creativity and production quality. AGM & Quintrix are grossly underrated can’t wait to hear more from them soon. Highly Recommended.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Sound Process – The Unthinkable (Sound Avenue)

Kacper Kostecki – 21st Century Symphony EP (Particles)