Dexter Curtin & Marcus Jahn – Zappelphilipp (MNL)

Paul Hazendonk’s MNL imprint returns this week with a brand new single from Dexter Curtin & Marcus Jahn.


Based in Leipzig, Germany both Dexter and Marcus have enjoyed success in their solo careers with releases on Audiodevot, Tretmuehle and Seveneves Records collectively. Now presenting their first ever collaborative project Dexter and Marcus step up to Manual Music affiliate MNL with the much anticipated ‘Zappelphilipp’.

Presented across two versions ‘Zappelphilipp’ is a journey into the progressive sound that’s currently playing so well in the Beatport charts. The original version sits quite traditional in approach with a spacious and monumentally bouncy groove, along with a catchy rhythmic theme. There’s great character in the production, it’s quite fat and rugged without sounding over processed which is nice but it’s the main break which really steals the show. A well executed build culminates with dramatic drums fills, and a wave of while noise, unleashing the groove for a solid finish. Definitely one for the old school massive out there.

The 6AM Dub comes in even stronger and a touch more techno inspired, with a deep but driving energetic core. It’s like a tighter more modern take on the original but still very much sitting in the old school area. Squelchy synths, robust rhythms and a prominent club friendly clap make for an intense first act, before things go a notch or two higher in the main break. Crisper drum fills make for a bevy of epic moments before an electric drop seals its peak time appeal. Fine music from two artists I’ve not heard of until now, so props to Paul Hazendonk and MNL for continuing to showcase and nurture new talent along with presenting some of the industry’s most trusted names. Highly Recommended.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Sian Reveals News About Capital Crimewave

Flowers and Sea Creatures and David Granha - Better Tomorrow (Strange Town Recordings)

Flowers and Sea Creatures and David Granha – Better Tomorrow (Strange Town Recordings)