Ewan Rill – Change Rules EP (Sever Records)

Sever Records returns this week with a new EP from Ewan Rill.

Ewan Rill

The Russian imprint launched in March of this year with a collaborative EP from label boss Ewan Rill. The release was a huge success and enjoyed a long run in the Beatport Progressive house chart and ‘Defuse’ was also selected as one of the Must Hear tracks for the week. Now for the labels third release we see Ewan back in the spotlight with a brand new two track EP entitled ‘Change Rules’.

The EP begins with ‘Change’ and it finds Ewan with a deep and mysterious progressive production. A lot of Ewan’s stuff it quite clean and club friendly but this has a rougher texture and less distinct elements. It’s a refreshing change and the result is a much more current sound. There’s a mystique about those rough beats and the hazy textures keep you locked from beginning to end. Amazing work from Ewan.

The companion piece ‘Rules’ is a touch a deeper and groovier but with the same cool design as ‘Change’. A spacious foundation provides some wonderful momentum while several cool effects keep you captivated throughout. It’s the perfect complement to the lead track, and Ewan’s keen nose for the dance floor is prevalent once again with a variety of catchy hooks and clever transitions. It rounds out a solid third release from Sever Records and Ewan Rill on a high note. Don’t miss it.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote
Oscar Holgado

Oscar Holgado – Direction (System Recordings)

Mariano Montori and Nico Ferrero

Mariano Montori and Nico Ferrero – House Theory (Soundteller Records)