Matter – All Of The Above EP (FutureForm Music)

FutureForm Music returns this week with another very special release from Aussie producer Matter.

matter all of teh above futureform music

Kieran ‘Verve’ Krohn and Herc Kass have done a remarkable job with this label since its inception just over a year and a half ago. They’ve featured true industry veterans such as Quivver but have also promoted some of the freshest new school talent like Huminal and Progress Inn. This week sees the label showcasing one of 2014’s brightest new comers Matter. Although the Aussie producers discography dates back to 2009 it wasn’t until this year that electronic music fans really started to take note. Remix productions on Stellar Fountain and Balkan Connection have earned immense praise from the electronic music underground and his latest double A-side release for FutureForm looks to be his best yet.

The lead track on the EP ‘Spore’ showcases the contemporary hypno sound of Matter quite well. The crispness of the drums in conjunction with a very powerful bass stab locks down a killer groove early on. Rhythmic sheets of noise build immense drive and push the track into the main break. Here a trippy, effects laden synth begins to take shape and eventually morphs into a killer lead line. The beats then get summoned back in and general dance floor mayhem should certainly ensue. I can’t help but hear some of the much loved Vapour records sound from many years ago throughout this production, particularly in the groove which is incredibly strong. The companion piece ‘All Of The Above’ is equally excellent. Backed by another full, round groove it’s another sure fire club bomb from Matter. An escalating vortex along with swirling atmospheres and detailed electronics make for a wicked peak time vibe. Surely one of Matter’s most menacing creations to date and the perfect way to round out another on the money release from FutureForm. Watch for some top notch remixes of these coming early year.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote
omar el gamal

Omar El Gamal – Let There Be Hope (Balkan Connection)

carpathian paths

Carpathian Paths and Kindzerskiy Sergiy – Dark Drive (Clinique Recordings)